‘The Hunger Games’ takes home four awards at the 2012 MTV Movie Awards

Credits: Lionsgate

‘The Hunger Games’ takes home four awards at the 2012 MTV Movie Awards

The golden popcorns have been handed out — and the cast of The Hunger Games will be taking four of them home after the 2012 MTV Movie Awards.

Originally nominated in nine categories, The Hunger Games won in four categories at the MTV Movie Awards Sunday night:

  • Best Female Performance (Jennifer Lawrence)
  • Best Male Performance (Josh Hutcherson)
  • Best Fight (Lawrence, Hutcherson & Alexander Ludwig)
  • Best On-Screen Transformation (Elizabeth Banks)

Hutcherson, Ludwig, and Banks were all on hand to walk the red carpet and accept their awards in person. Lawrence is on location filming her latest movie, but accepted her award by video chat.

Fans cheered especially when Hutcherson thanked Hunger Games author Suzanne Collins first in his acceptance speech.

The Hunger Games lost the awards for Best Kiss and Best Movie to The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1. The Hunger Games was also nominated for Best Cast and Best Hero, but those awards ultimately went to Harry Potter. The award for Breakthrough Performance went to Shailene Woodley, a category in which The Hunger Games‘s Liam Hemsworth was nominated.

You can catch photos of the cast in the slideshow with this article, and look for video highlights on MTV’s website.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s