Comics illustrator draws Michelle Obama with Wonder Woman likeness

Credits: J. Bone

Comics illustrator draws Michelle Obama with Wonder Woman likeness

A look at artist J. Bone’s rendition blending two apparent notables collects a singular impactful image.

The Toronto-based artist recently drew First Lady Michelle Obama in the traditional garb of comic book’s one-of-a-kind superheroinne.

Of late, Wonder Woman incarnates a fixture of super-heroism full of television reboots and movie pitches but far in reaching fruition to an international fan base’s awaiting anticipations.

The absence of DC Comics multi-generational inspiration beyond any media platform built around animation has led towards a wide-spread simmer of drawn portraits on blogs belonging to professional and burgeoning cartoonists, illustrators and  pencillers.

His depiction came to greater attention on Grio.com, where he gave an interview regarding Michelle Obama with lasso and flag symbolic costume.

On how the image went from inception to his Facebook page:

I’m often drawing Wonder Woman for fun. I saw the video on YouTube of Michelle’s opening address at the Democratic convention. When she spoke about women having control of their own bodies it struck me that Michelle embodies the principles of Wonder Woman.

And so I sat at my desk trying to draw a caricature of Michelle Obama in a modified Wonder Woman costume. (I changed the Wonder Woman “W” chest piece into an “M.”)

On his experience in comics:

I started working in comic books in 1999 with my first published book Solar Stella. It’s a pin-up girl space adventure similar to Barbarella. I worked for a few years in small-press black and white comics before I started working on bigger company books like Batgirl (Gotham Girls series) and Spider-Man (the Tangled Web series). My big comic book break came when I worked with Darwyn Cooke on Spider-Man, and a variety of other projects. Darwyn is an multiple Eisner award-winning comic book artist and writer. For those of you unfamiliar with comic books, an Eisner award is equivalent to an Oscar for comic books.

I’ve worked on the Super Friends for DC comics. For two years I drew Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern and Aquaman in a book aimed at kids. I’ve also drawn Spider-Man, Wolverine and the Spirit. My favourites are definitely Spider-Man and Wonder Woman. When I’m drawing for fun I often turn to either of those two characters.

Read the entire interview on Grio.com.

So, how do you weigh in on Bone’s Michelle-Diana combination?

Read More by Mark Ruffin

Leave a Reply

