Wrestler Damian Dragon talks Super 8 Tournament

Standard
Credits: East Coast Wrestling Association

Credits: East Coast Wrestling Association

Wrestler Damian Dragon talks Super 8 Tournament

Professional wrestler, Nerd Herders podcast co-host and actor, Damian Dragon spoke honestly and at length with Examiner.com about his professional wrestling career, being an entrant in the upcoming East Coast Wrestling Association 17th Annual Super 8 Tournament, his pending retirement, playing Deadpool, comics and more.

In the first part of the interview, Dragon discusses realizing his dream of being in the ECWA Super 8 Tournament, coming April 13th to the Greater Newark Boys’ & Girls’ Club in Newark, Delaware.

Examiner.com: Damian, first off, thank you for taking the time to speak with Examiner.com. Your time is greatly appreciated. You have said that being in ECWA’s Super 8 Tournament is a dream come true, something you have wanted to accomplish your entire 17 year career, what is it about this tournament that makes it mean so much to you?

Damian Dragon: In anything I have ever done I always want to push myself. The only way to do that is by competing with those you deem better than yourself. Those are the people that not just test your abilities, but push them. That was the feeling initially. To reach a point to be seen as one of the best and given the honor to compete at a high level. No “storylines.” No “gimmicks.” Just pure ability and competition in the SPORT of professional wrestling.

But time only added something more personal. After years of giving up on dreams I had due to them falling short or simply never coming to fruition (that is not just in pro-wrestling, but my entire life as a whole) this I NEVER gave up on wanting. Even when hope seemed lost I’d ever get to do it. I’ve spent more than half my life in pursuit of this one event. That’s a hell of a long time to chase something. I gave up many family events, time with my kids and my wife Veronica “Foxy Foxxy” Vargas when I should have been there, wrestled injured and sick when I shouldn’t have. I sacrificed a lot of things and most of all time I can never get back. If I walked away without ever getting this chance, for me and me alone-it will have all been for nothing. It is validation of all I sacrificed and gave up for more than half my life in pursuit of something.

Read More

Leave a Reply

