Official synopsis for ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay’ – Parts 1 and 2 released

Credits: Scholastic UK
Credits: Scholastic UK

Official synopsis for ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay” – Parts 1 and 2 released

Lionsgate has released the official synopsis for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Parts 1 and 2, the two-part finale to their film franchise based on the best-selling book series by Suzanne Collins.

And a warning for those who have not read the books — the synopsis is packed with spoilers:

In MOCKINGJAY PARTS 1 & 2, we follow heroine Katniss Everdeen’s journey as she leads the districts of Panem in a rebellion against the tyrannical and corrupt Capitol. As the war that will determine the fate of Panem escalates, Katniss must decipher for herself who she can trust and what needs to be done, with everything she cares for in the balance.

The Mockingjay movies are expected to begin filming in September and run through May 2014. Catching Fire director Francis Lawrence has signed on to helm both movies, and award-winning screenwriter Danny Strong has written the screenplays for both parts.

Audiences got a preview of the second movie, Catching Fire, at the Cannes Film Festival this past weekend. It hits theaters November 22nd.

Read More by Sara Gundell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s